NMLS: Login to Nationwide Mortgage Licensing System

NMLS stands for Nationwide Mortgage Licensing System, which is the legal system of record for licensing in all participating states, the District of Columbia and U.S. Territories. The Nationwide Mortgage Licensing System ("NMLS") is a part of the Massachusetts Division of Banks. Get detailed information about NMLS and how to do login in it.

NMLS: Login to Nationwide Mortgage Licensing System

NMLS is a secured, web-based system that allows state licensees, companies, branches, and mortgage loan originators, to apply for, amend, update or renew licenses online in Massachusetts and in other participating states. On behalf of the jurisdiction’s governmental agencies, NMLS is the official and sole system for companies and individuals seeking to apply for, amend, renew and surrender licenses managed in the NMLS. NMLS itself does not grant or deny license authority.

The main purpose of the NMLS is to maintain a centralized mortgage industry database that can be accessed by mortgage regulatory agencies around the country. Every state which has agreed to connect the NMLS has foregone state-specific application forms for a uniform, national set of application forms to achieve the task. MU1, MU2, MU3 and MU4 are the four national application forms.

  • MU1 - Uniform Mortgage Lender/Mortgage Broker Form
  • MU2 - Uniform Mortgage Biographical Statement & Consent Form
  • MU3 - Uniform Mortgage Branch Office Form
  • MU4 - Uniform Individual Mortgage License/Registration & Consent Form

The new MU forms have been adopted by the five states, Idaho, Iowa, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, and Washington which they will use in a paper format until the system is fully up and operational on line early next year. The NMLS system allows you to access your account through a secure web site 24*7 and 362 days a year. Recently, 49 states license mortgage companies.

State Licensing Requirements:

To see a specific jurisdiction's transition plan, licenses and requirements for that select map or state from the drop box. You will see company license, Branch Licenses, Individual Licenses, description and requirement checklist. Common Requirements for all states are given on the left side of the web page.

Professional Requirements:

For Professional Requirements, you have to select any one of the following:

  • Education - completing pre-licensure education or continuing education requirements
  • Credit Report - coming soon, instructions for authorizing a credit report through NMLS
  • Criminal Background Check - submitting fingerprints through NMLS for an FBI criminal background check
  • Testing - how to take the National and State component(s) of the SAFE MLO Test

For information about the SAFE Act and Professional Requirements, click on Background on Professional Requirements.

Course Providers:

There are three steps to become a provider: In first step, you will get information about how to become a provider, in second step how to submit courses, and in last step how to report course completions.

How to login at NMLS?

There are three basic steps for registration. If you want to become member of the Nationwide Mortgage Licensing System, then enter necessary contact information like first name, last name, Title, email address, informal name and click on ‘find my organization’ option and do as per instruction. For login purpose, enter your email ID and password and click on ‘submit’ button.

Table showing days and hours of login:

Days Available Hours Available
(NMLS may occasionally be unavailable during this period due to routine maintenance.)

For more information, visit www.mortgage.nationwidelicensingsystem.org


The Best Trilogy Movies/Films ever: